Gluten-free Weleda products that are suitable for customers with coeliac disease
Gluten, the protein found in wheat and other grains, poses as an allergy concern for some people. As a natural component of wheat, it is found in some of the ingredients we use in our products. Many of our skin care products include small quantities of organic alcohol derived from organic wheat. A few products are also formulated with Triticum Vulgare (Wheat Germ) Oil. We cannot guarantee that these ingredients are entirely free of all traces of gluten.
The products listed below either don’t contain raw materials derived from wheat, oat or other cereals which can contain gluten, or they are classified as harmless for patients with coeliac disease according to EC Guideline 2005/26/EC.
This icon is only attached to certain categories because they are either foodstuffs (Elixirs, Juices, Tea) or cosmetics categories which can potentially be ingested during the course of their intended use (Oral Care, Lip Care, Baby Care) but are still suitable for people intolerant to gluten.
Weleda products which are suitable for those with coeliac disease:
- Elixirs: Birch Juice
- Tea: Nursing Tea
- Oral Care: Calendula Toothpaste, Children's Tooth Gel, Plant Gel Toothpaste, Ratanhia Mouthwash, Ratanhia Toothpaste, Salt Toothpaste
- Lip Care: Everon® Lip Balm, Skin Food Lip Balm
- Baby Care: Calendula Baby Oil Fragrance free, Calendula Body Lotion, Calendula Cream Bath, Calendula Nappy Change Cream, Calendula Shampoo and Body Wash, Calendula Weather Protection Cream, White Mallow Body Lotion, White Mallow Face Cream, White Mallow Nappy Change Cream
Because these products are produced in the same production chains as the products that do contain gluten, and because our suppliers of raw materials (like vegetable oils) may process these raw materials in the same production chains as raw materials containing gluten, we cannot guarantee that the products are totally free from gluten. But it is improbable that the gluten content will exceed 20 mg/kg, which is the prescribed limit for labeling a foodstuff with the term “gluten-free” (acc. EC regulation 41/2009).